The 5 stages of the ITIL service lifecycle

ITIL is a service-provision framework and best-practice methodology that aids the implementation of IT services. There are five phases in the ITIL v4 service lifecycle: Service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation, and continual service improvement.

    Service strategy
    The Service Strategy stage of the Service Lifecycle gives guidance on how to design and execute IT Service Management. Candidates will learn how IT service methods can be established to provide unique benefits to the market. During the service strategy phase, a company will identify its’ target market and how to differentiate its’ product from competitors. Management must outline the expenses and risks related to their service portfolio so that this information may be used to inform their operational decision-making. Having the correct strategies in place can offer the company a proactive and efficient technique to managing their IT service operations. Service design

    The service design phase of the ITIL service lifecycle helps create and establish IT services and informs the IT service management processes which will support those service strategies already developed. Learning how to develop service strategies will prepare IT specialists and business leaders to address customer issues in the most proficient manner.

    Service transition
    The service transition stage of the ITIL service lifecycle teaches IT specialists how to manage changes to the service portfolio in an efficient way. Service transition offers guidance on how to effectively transition new services into the operational environment without interfering with or disrupting other services or processes.

    Service operation
    The service operation phase of the ITIL service lifecycle helps guide day-to-day operations and maintenance. The goal is for the IT department to keep things running reliably and cost-effectively. The activities in this phase make sure that services are delivered to consumers with as few disruptions as possible. Service operation concentrates on providing business value to both the consumer and the service provider. Continual service improvement
    Even if nothing changes in an organization, there is always room for improvement in IT services. Consistent assessment is the crucial to understanding where improvements can be made. ITIL training can help learners identify possibilities for improvement.

ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited. Used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

>>> More Information on The ITIL Toolkit <<<
(Specific Toolkit Web Site)

Return To Main Page



You can purchase the ITIL Toolkit from HERE


Service Management Resources